The Creative Championship



8th April, 2023

Valiant Capture TCC Cup After Spirited Comeback


Valiant FC have emerged as The Creative Championship Cup winners for 2023 following a penalty shootout win over Gbagada FC at the Mobolaji Johnson Arena, Onikan on Saturday.

In a final that first looked one way as Gbagada took a two-goal lead in the first half courtesy of goals from Issa Jamiu and Segun Alfred, Valiant staged a comeback to force penalties via goals from Olaniyan Gafar and Joel Shedrach. It was in the ensuing tense penalties that the Brave Boys claim the glory.

The two sides struggled in the league this season, but somewhat found a way into the final of the TCC Cup after producing some remarkable results on their way.

As Gbagada have done in recent times, the Blue Eagles got the game’s opening goal when Jamiu emphatically headed home a teasing cross from Balogun Wasiu to hand them the lead.

It took a while for Valiant to get going and when they did, they lacked the final touch and connection to hurt the strong Gbagada backline.

The 2021 champions made their first-half dominance count as Segun doubled their lead on the stroke of halftime with a thumping finish. At that point, it looked like another trophy in the bag for Akinyelu Olajide’s side, but Valiant fought their way back into the game after the break.

An early goal after the restart from Gafar brought more life into the game before Shedrack completed the comeback with a fine low finish in the 76th minute. Gbagada couldn’t believe what struck them as the game produced no further goals, leaving it to the lottery of penalties to produce a winner.

Both teams converted their opening five spot-kicks before Gbagada’s Gabriel Sanda missed the sixth to hand the Brave Boys their first TCC Cup title. Meanwhile, Valiant skipper Elegalam Sixtus was named the man of the match of the final.

At end of the final, an award ceremony was held to honour the outstanding players and managers for the 2022/23 TCC season.

Golden Boot 

11 goals – Bilayminu Abdullahi (Imperial) and Onyebuchi Obasi (BYL)

 Assist King 

 Shola Ogundana (10 assists)

Golden Glove 

 Aputaziem Favour (Beyond Limits) – 7 clean sheets

Goal of the season

Bilyaminu Abdullahi (Matchday 7 – Imperial v Sporting Lagos) 

Coach of the season

Olumide Ajibolade – Beyond Limits

Player of the Season

Bilyaminu Abdullahi (Imperial FC)

Team of the Season – 3-4-3 Formation


Aputaziem Favour – Beyond Limits


Stanley Joseph – Beyond Limits

Remilekun Kabiru – Iganmu

Mubarak Abdulrahman – Dannaz


Bilyaminu Abdullahi – Imperial

Musa Abdullahi – Beyond Limits

Ogungbe Ayomide – Beyond Limits

Eric Ologe – Imperial


Onyebuchi Obasi – Beyond Limits

Adeleke Bamidele – Iganmu FC

Shola Ogundana – Beyond Limits